LWV Reminds Residents to Vote in the March 1 Presidential Primary

Print More

Vote Button

Raya Sern, president of the League of Women Voters of Watertown reminds town residents to get out and vote on Tuesday.

Stern sent out the following statement:

“The League of Women Voters of Watertown would like to remind everyone that it is Presidential Primary season again. Every four years we get a chance to tell our politicians our preferences for candidates for President of the United States. Make sure you take this opportunity to make your views known by going to the polls on March 1, 2016.”

Voting Info

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday. If you don’t know where you vote, you can check by clicking here.

The big race on the ballot, of course, is the Presidential Primary, but there are other races with local candidates.

For the Democrats, there are actually four names on the ballot: Hillary Clinton, Bernie Sanders, Martin O’Malley and Roque “Rocky” de la Fuente. Sanders and Clinton are the only active candidates.

On the Republican side, along with the five active candidates (in order on the ballot) – Donald Trump, Ted Cruz, Ben Carson, Marco Rubio and John Kasich – the ballot still includes Jim Gilmore, George Pataki, Mike Huckabee, Rand Paul, Carly Fiorina, Rick Santorum, Chris Christie and Jeb Bush.

The Green-Rainbow Party will not be left out from this election. There are five candidates on the ballot: Sedinam Kinamo Christin Moyowasafza Curry, Jill Stein, William P. Kreml, Kent Mesplay and Daryl Cherney

On the Democratic and Republic ballots voters can choose their local State Committeeman and Committeewoman.

For the Democrats, there is a race for Committeeman between Steve Owens of Watertown and David Kazis of Boston. Tina Poindexter of Watertown is running unopposed.

Two Watertown residents are running on the Republican side, too. Steve Aylward faces Neil Edward St. Clair of Boston in the race for GOP State Committeeman. Deborah Dugan of Watertown is running unopposed for State Committeewoman.

The Dems and Republicans can also elect the Town Committee members for their respective parties, and may vote for up to 35 candidates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *