See the Award 2023 Watertown Historic Preservation Award Winners

Print More
Members of the Historical Society of Watertown and Boston Tea Party pose with their 2023 Historic Preservation Awards. (Photo courtesy of the City of Watertown)

The Watertown Historical Commission awarded the 2023 Historical Preservation Awards at a ceremony held at Gore Place’s Carriage House on May 18.

Awards honor individuals, organizations and projects that have shown leadership in historic preservation in Watertown.

2023 Watertown Preservation Awards

Watertown Free Public Library Reference Staff

The Richard E. Mastrangelo Memorial Award

Awarded to the Watertown Free Library and its reference staff for serving as a great historic research resource

Sheppard Ferguson

Citizenship Award

Awarded to Sheppard Ferguson for photographing and indexing the City’s historic markers

Boston Tea Party Ship

Community Spirit Award

Awarded to the Boston Tea Party Ship for installing a final resting place marker commemorating Samuel Barnard, a Watertown participant in the 1773 Tea Party

Students from the Jewish Community Day School accepted the Historic Preservation Award. (Photo courtesy of the City of Watertown)

Jewish Community Day School

Service to Youth Award

Awarded to the Jewish Community Day School for its Watertown Museum Pop-Up project on Watertown history

Marshall Place–CASCAP

Architectural Preservation Award

Awarded for the Marshall Place restoration project, led by CASCAP, preserving this 1874

Second Empire building

Mt. Auburn Cemetery

Environmentl Preservation Award

Awarded to the Mt. Auburn Cemetery for its Indian Ridge Path restoration project

Thomas Melone

Historical Resources Preservation Award

Historical Commission member from 2008 to 2023.  Tirelessly and fearlessly, Tom’s photographs provided insight into the buildings before the Commission.

Tom Melone was honored for his photography. (Photo courtesy of the City of Watertown)

Gloriann Sorensen

Homeowner Award

Awarded to Gloriann Sorensen for restoration of her home at 16 Oliver Street

James Murphy, III

Developer Award

Awarded to James Murphy III for preservation of 118-120 Spring Street

Historical Society

Public/non-Profit Award

Awarded to the Historical Society of Watertown for the Shick House historic marker and efforts to preserve the house and farm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *