UPDATED: See Who’s Decided to Run in the 2023 Watertown City Election

Print More

In November, Watertown voters will elect City Councilors, School Committee members and Library Trustees. The deadline for submitting candidates papers is July 31, and more than a dozen people have already pulled papers.

Thus far, all nine members of the City Council have pulled their candidate papers to run for re-election.

In addition, the two of the three School Committee members up for re-election have pulled their papers, and a third candidate has submitted her papers. Two of the three Library Trustees whose seats are up for re-election this fall have also pulled papers.

The Watertown City Clerk’s Office sent out the following information:

The following people have pulled Nomination Papers for Watertown Elected Offices as of June 21, 2021:

Mark Sideris – Council President & Member of School Committee
Caroline Bays – Councilor at Large
John Gannon – Councilor at Large
John Airasian – Councilor at Large
Anthony Palomba – Councilor at Large
Nicole Gardner – District A Councilor
Lisa J Feltner – District B Councilor
Vincent J. Piccirilli Jr – District C Councilor
Emily Izzo – District D Councilor
Maja Young – Library Trustee
Kendra Foley – School Committee
Rachel E. Kay – School Committee
David M. Stokes – School Committee
Thedore Kokoros – Library Trustee

Any registered voter who is interested in running for office can visit the City Clerk’s Office and pick up Nomination Papers. Monday, July 31, 2023 at 5:00 PM is the last day and hour to submit nomination papers for candidates for city office to the Election Commission in the City Clerk’s Office for certification.

Certified signatures of at least one hundred (100) voters are the minimum necessary for placement on the preliminary ballot for City Council President & Member of School Committee; Councilor-at-large; Board of Library Trustees; or School Committee, not more than fifty (50) of which are from any one district.  For the Office of District Councilor, not less than one hundred (100) signatures from the district from which the nomination is sought.

More information is available here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *