Devaney Wins Race for Governor’s Council & All the Watertown Results from the State Primary

Print More

Charlie Breitrose

Watertown’s Marilyn Petitto Devaney prevailed Tuesday in a tough primary election for the District 3 Governor’s Councilor seat.

Devaney will not face a Republican challenger in her bid for a 16th term on the Governor’s Council after defeating challenger Nick Carter of Newton. Devaney received 56 percent of the vote, districtwide, with 95 percent of the precincts counted. There Republicans have no candidate on the ballot for Governor’s Council District 3.

Carter, an attorney, ran a well funded campaign and sent out several mailings to voters, while  Devaney, a former Watertown Town Councilor, self-funded her campaign.

The Governor’s Councilor’s district includes 32 communities, stretching from Hudson to parts of Boston. Devaney received more votes in 26 communities, with one not reported.

In Watertown, Devaney fared slightly worse than the overall vote, receiving 54 percent of the vote (2,570 votes) to carter’s 46 percent (1,830).

Carter dominated his hometown, receiving 63 percent of the vote, a total of 7,179 votes, to Devaney’s 4,126. Devaney made up much of the difference in the areas of Boston in the district. She received 65 percent of the votes (5,349) compared to Carter’s 2,814.

Devaney also fared well in Chelmsford (72 percent, 2,650 votes), Hudson (73 percent, 1,356), Marlborough (71 percent, 1,967), and Woburn (67 percent, 2,392). Carter’s strongholds were Brookline (54 percent, 4,317), Wellesley (55.5 percent, 964), and Lincoln (59 percent, 590). In other surrounding towns Devaney got the most votes in Waltham (57 percent, 2,437) and Carter got the most votes in Belmont (51.5 percent, 1,763).

Other Results

Republican Geoff Diehl won a three-way race to challenge Democrat Elizabeth Warren in the race for U.S. Senate. Diehl received 55 percent of the vote in Massachusetts, while John Kingston got 27 percent and Beth Lindstrom got 18 percent. In Watertown, Diehl got 542 votes (61 percent), Kingston got 214 votes (24 percent), and Lindstrom got 137 (15 percent). Warren was unchallenged on the Democratic side.

Governor Charlie Baker won the GOP primary with 64 percent of the votes, and will face Democrat Jay Gonzalez, who received 64 percent of the vote statewide. In Watertown, Baker received 558 voters (60 percent) and challenger Scott Lively got 369 votes. On the Democratic side, Gonzalez received 2,998 votes (66 percent) while Bob Massie got 1,527 votes.

Quentin Palfrey won the Democratic primary for Lt. Governor, with 59 percent of the vote, over Jimmy Tingle. In Watertown Palfrey got 2,471 votes (55 percent) compared to Tingle’s 2,015. Republican Karyn Polito, the incumbent, ran unopposed.

John Hugo won the race to face Democrat and incumbent Katherine Clark in the race for Massachusetts’ Fifth Congressional District. Hugo got 64 percent of the vote districtwide, over his opponent Louis Kuchnir. Watertown voters backed Hugo with 471 votes (68 percent) to 219 for Kuchnir. Clark was unopposed.

In the Attorney General race James McMahon got the most votes for Republicans in Watertown, with 480 (63 percent) ahead of Daniel Shore’s 281 (37 percent). McMahon won statewide with 62 percent of the vote and will face Democrat and incumbent Maura Healey, who ran unopposed.

Incumbent William Galvin won the Democratic primary for Secretary of State, with 68 percent of the vote, over Josh Zakim. In Watertown, Galvin got 58 percent of the vote (2,895) to Zakim’s 2,038. Galvin will face Republican challenger Anthony Amore, who ran unopposed.

In the race for Middlesex District Attorney, incumbent Marian Ryan defeated her Democratic challenger Donna Patalano. Marian received 53.7 percent of the vote. In Watertown she got 52 percent (2,457 votes). Patalano got 2,039

Watertown’s State House representatives — Senator Will Brownsberger and Representatives Jonathan Hecht (who represents Watertown Precincts 1-9) and John Lawn (Precincts 10-12) — ran unopposed, and have no GOP challenger on the ballot.

Both parties nominees for Treasurer — Dem Deborah Goldberg, the incumbent, and Republican Orrall Keiko — ran unopposed.

See a summary of the Watertown results by clicking here.

2 thoughts on “Devaney Wins Race for Governor’s Council & All the Watertown Results from the State Primary

  1. Congratulations to Marilyn Devaney for winning the election. She has no vested interests as a Governor’s Councilor, unlike Nick Carter, who is a career litigator and, moreover, ran a smear campaign in his bid to win the seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *