Massachusetts’ State Primary is on Tuesday, See Who is on the Ballot


The 2018 Massachusetts State Primary will be held on Sept. 4, the day after Labor Day. 

Democrats, Republicans and unenrolled voters who want to vote in either of the parties primaries will be able to vote from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 4.

The Democrats have several contested races, including governor, lieutenant governor and a race with a candidate from Watertown.

The Republicans have four contested races, including three vying for U.S. Senator.

There are no contested races for the Libertarian Party, but Daniel Fishman is running for Auditor.

Here are the candidates for office on each ballot:

Contested Races

(listed in order, and with the descriptions, as they appear on the ballot)



Jay Gonzalez, former Secretary of Administration and Finance, Needham

Bob Massie, Somerville

Lt. Governor

Quentin Palfrey, Former Assistant Attorney General, Weston

Jimmy Tingle, Cambridge

Secretary of State

William Galvin, incumbent, Boston

Josh Zakim, City Councilor, Boston

Councilor (Governor’s Council), Third District

Marilyn Petitto Devaney, incumbent, Watertown

Nick Carter, Newton

District Attorney, Northern District 

Marian Ryan, incumbent, Belmont

Donna Patalano, former Assistant District Attorney, Winchester


Senator in Congress (U.S. Senate)

Geoff Diehl, State Representative, Whitman

John Kingston, Winchester

Beth Lindstrom, Former Director of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation, Groton


Charles Baker, incumbent, Swampscott

Scott Lively, Springfield

Attorney General

James McMahon III, Bourne

Daniel Shores, Hingham

Representative in Congress, Fifth District

John Hugo, Woburn

Louis Kuchnir, Former Member of Board of Registration of Physician Assistants, Southborough

Uncontested Races


Senator in Congress (U.S. Senate) – Elizabeth Warren, incumbent

Attorney General – Maura Healey, incumbent

Treasurer – Deborah Goldberg, incumbent

Auditor – Suzanne Bump, incumbent

Representative in Congress, Fifth District – Katherine Clark, incumbent

Senator in General Court (State Senate), Second Middlesex and Suffolk District – William Brownsberger, incumbent

Representative in General Court (State Representative), Tenth Middlesex District – John Lawn, incumbent

Clerk of Courts, Middlesex County – Michael Sullivan, incumbent

Register of Deeds, Middlesex Southern District – Maria Curtatone, incumbent


Lt. Governor – Karyn Polito, incumbent

Secretary of State – Anthony Amore

Treasurer – Keiko Orrall

Auditor – Helen Brady

To find your voting location, click here:

One thought on “Massachusetts’ State Primary is on Tuesday, See Who is on the Ballot

  1. Everyone, please get out and vote! This is an important election, folks: help decide who the choices will be for the final election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *