Firefighters, Police, Others Honored for Saving Girl’s Life, 3 Firefighters Sworn In

Charlie BreitroseThe Watertown Firefighters, Police, and civilian employees who helped save the life of 11-year-old Rachel Patterson, pose with the Patterson family. Several awards were presented at a ceremony on Oct. 18. A dozen people received awards for their part in saving the life of a girl in July who was not breathing. Also during the ceremony the three newest members of the Watertown Fire Department officially received their badges.

Minuteman Teacher Receives Award from National Group

Minuteman High School design and visual communications teacher Allison Barry won an award from NOCTI. The following information was provided by Minuteman High School:

Allison Barry, a Design and Visual Communications teacher at Minuteman High School, is the winner of the 2020 Carl J. Schaefer Memorial CTE Teacher Award from NOCTI, the nation’s largest provider of industry partner certifications and industry-based credentials for career and technical education programs.

The award was established in 2013 to honor Dr. Carl J. Schaefer. As a lifelong champion in career and technical education (CTE), he gained national recognition as a CTE educator and author. He was also one of NOCTI’s founding fathers. This memorial award is a tribute to Dr. Schaefer’s memory and recognizes an outstanding CTE teacher or CTE teacher candidate.

Watertown-based Company Named Best Place to Work for Those with Disabilities

The following information was provided by Tufts Health Plan:

Tufts Health Plan been rated a Best Place to Work by Disability: IN on its 2019 Disability Equality Index. This is the second year in a row Tufts Health Plan has been named to the list, with a score of 100 percent. “We aim to create a work environment that is inclusive, where people feel they are respected, their voices are heard, and they are given their best chance to succeed,” said Lydia Greene, Tufts Health Plan’s chief human resource officer. “Being named a Best Place to Work by Disability:IN is a wonderful honor, but it’s more than that.  In a competitive recruiting environment, we need to attract and retain talent of all backgrounds and abilities. We often hear from candidates, current and even former employees, that our inclusive work environment is a major reason why people choose to work with us.

Many Watertown Students Among Minuteman Award, Scholarship Winners

Minuteman High School in Lexington. The following announcement was provided by Minuteman High School:

The following awards and scholarships were presented to members of the Class of 2019 from Minuteman High School in Lexington:

National Honor Society: Noor Alwaz (Watertown), Tazmin Anbar (Watertown), Benjamin Cook (Arlington), Sabrina Correa (Arlington), Arrik Crouse (Acton), Matthew Dunham (Stoneham), Fae Eisenheim (Arlington), Anthony Fiore (Woburn), Seth Flueckiger (Needham), Kimmee Hanson (Lancaster), Adnan Kabir (Arlington), Benjamin Keaton (Concord), Sophia Li (Acton), Judeleen Modestin (Everett), Kaienteres Maracle (Lexington), William McPhee (Winchester), Halle Merkowitz (Peabody), Jennifer Mills (Waltham), Jordan Mills (Waltham), Ethan Moore (Arlington), Lillian Powell (Wayland), Sage Romano (Woburn), Edward Seidman (Watertown), Daniel Spencer (Arlington), Amanda Sullivan (Arlington). Outstanding Vocational Technical Student of the Year: Sophia Li (Acton). Co-sponsored by the Massachusetts Association of Vocational Administrators and the Massachusetts Vocational Association

2019 John & Abigail Adams Scholarship Recipients: Jeffrey Benoit (Lancaster), Tyler Benoit (Lancaster), David Castillo-Ordonez (Watertown), Benjamin Cook (Arlington), Henry Dionne (Concord), Laura Espinosa-Jaramillo (Lincoln), Tyler Ferrin (Tewksbury), Noa Geva (Lexington), Isabel Halstead (Lexington), Samuel Harris (Lncaster), Devon Jones (Arlington), Adnan Kabir (Arlington), Levi Kane (Lancaster), Matthew Larzelere (Stoneham), Sophia Li (Acton), Michael Merrick (Lexington), Jennifer Mills (Waltham), Jordan Mills (Waltham), Ethan Moore (Arlington), Stephen Munroe (Watertown), Lillian Powell (Wayland), Daniel Spencer (Arlington), Amanda Sullivan (Arlington), Zachary Umbsen (Watertown), Elizabeth Whitman-Kinghorn (Lexington), Jeremy Whitman-Kinghorn (Lexington)

Senior Class Officers:

President | Amanda Sullivan (Arlington)Vice President | Erica Grandon (Arlington)Secretary | Tyler Benoit (Lancaster)Treasurer | Jordan Mills (Waltham)

President’s Education Award for Outstanding Academic Excellence: Tazmin Anbar (Watertown), Jeffrey Benoit (Lancaster), Tyler Benoit (Lancaster), Jared Burke (Waltham), Saba Challant (Winchester), Henry Dionne (Concord), Matthew Dunham (Stoneham), Fae Eisenheim (Arlington), Tyler Ferrin (Tewksbury), Noa Geva (Lexington), Kimmee Hanson (Lancaster), Benjamin Keaton (Concord), Sophia Li (Acton), Kaienteres Maracle (Lexington), Halle Merkowitz (Peabody), Michael Merrick (Lexington), Jennifer Mills (Waltham), Jordan Mills (Waltham), Ethan Moore (Arlington), Stephen Munroe (Watertown), Edward Seidman (Watertown), Daniel Spencer (Arlington), Amanda Sullivan (Arlington), Paige Zbyszewski (Arlington)

President’s Education Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement: Luc Barbeau (Medford), Jonathan Benoit (Lancaster), David Castillo-Ordonez (Watertown), Benjamin Cook (Arlington), Jayne Coppola (Lexington), Sabrina Correa (Arlington), Arrik Crouse (Acton), Jenna DeCampo (Arlington), Nicholas Delorey (Concord), Nicholas DeVincent (Sudbury), Jake Dionne (Concord), Laura Espinosa Jaramillo (Linncoln), Lyazzat Feldman (Arlington), Robert Floyd (Lancaster), Sarai Gonzalez (Acton), Erica Grandon (Arlington), Samuel Harris (Lancaster), Adnan Kabir (Arlington), Matthew Larzelere (Stoneham), James Linarte (Watertown), William McPhee (Winchester), Judeleen Modestin (Everett), Andrew Nash (Waltham), Jordyn Nobrega (Burlington), Alexander Northup (Needham), Lillian Powell (Wayland), Sage Romano (Woburn), Ethan Scerra (Concord), Samantha Thebodo (Arlington), Elizabeth Whitman-Kinghorn (Lexington), Jeremy Whitman-Kinghorn (Lexington), Justin Wood (Burlington)


The Community Service and Interact Club would like to recognize the following students for their outstanding work during Minuteman’s Community Service and Learning Trip. Each of these students volunteered over 45 hours the spring of 2019 in Puerto Rico.

See Who Will Lead Watertown Rotary Next Year & Award Winners

The Watertown Rotary Club appointed its new president and board, and gave out awards during the annual installation of officers and board members. The new Watertown President will be Anthony Donato, the President-Elect is Ronald LeSanto, and the Vice President is Jesse Wallace. The new treasurer is Edward Sugrue, Secretary will be Debra A. Boyajian, Club Advisor-Robert Whitney and Past President Terry Griffith, Jr.

The Board of Directors are: Dr. Domenic D’Amico, John Nealon, Maria Papadopoulos, Dr. Martin J. Greene, Nicole Starck and Alexander Rosin.  

Awards were also handed out during the ceremony. The Outstanding Rotarian went to Anna Glover and Rotary’s highest honor, a Paul Harris Fellow, was awarded to Meg Urquhart.